⋮IWConnect Employees at a Glance – Andrej

16 Apr, 2021 | 2 minutes read

Ever since I was a kid I had a great interest in sports and my favorite one was basketball. As I was growing up I had the opportunity to play for the league as part of the team “MZT Skopje”. That opened my path and we managed to secure third place in our country’s league. All my medals are signed by Mr.Vrbica Stefanov himself, and I am very proud of that time in my life.  

I am a person who likes to try new things, but I never gave up on sports and therefore I was invited to represent my school in an athletic competition, in the discipline-throwing bullets, winning third place.

As I mentioned I never really gave up sports, but I continued my path in different areas like Kickboxing and Jet Kune do, but nothing professional, just to keep myself in shape, to have a healthy life, and to learn something new.

In high school, I directed myself to study languages. I find myself quite good at it. Maybe it is the fact that my mother is a Macedonian language professor. And while I was thinking to continue my path that way, suddenly something happened…

A new Maths professor, Slobodanka Kiselovska started working. I will remember her name for the rest of my life because she was the person who made me become interested in math and pointed me directions that helped me to learn it easier. As time was passing by, I began to love math more and more and I never stopped going to additional classes ever since. One day I said to myself: “If math is what you love, then listen to your heart and aim for that direction”. So, I decided to take the country math exam and started preparing myself. Each day was starting and ending with math. Stressful, but worth it, because I passed the exam, and I was ready to enroll in the Faculty for Technical Science.

So, where will my next destination be?

Thanks to my cousin who had already enrolled in FINKI, I was able to see the learning program at the faculty and see some exams they were taking there. So, my interest got bigger, and I was ready for the next challenge. I enrolled there and finished the four years of study on time with lots of recognitions and certificates in the field. Today I am a Technical Consultant with a Bachelor’s degree, with more than three years of experience, and a key contributor to an open-source.

I can say that I am proud of where I am today and I am also happy that I have had the opportunity to try different areas of learning, to work, and as an outpost, to be successful everywhere. My life motto is to never give up, to believe in yourself, and to know that everything is doable. There is always a way.